Volunteer Spotlight

The 16th Annual Komen Ozark Race for the Cure is now less than two months away, on Saturday, April 26, 2014. Volunteers are an integral part of the Race for the Cure and the event would not be possible without the help of hundreds of committed volunteers.

We thought it was important to highlight these individuals who dedicate much of their time, talent and energy to our great cause and help put on the largest event in NWA.

Neil Breitkreutz

NeilBreitkreutz

My name is Neil Breitkreutz and I am honored to serve on the Komen Ozark Steering committee serving this year as the Team Chair!   I continue to redefine what that means, but basically my goal is to maximize team participation in 2014 to record levels with goals to optimize fund raising within these teams.  Increasing team participation in actual teams and team members and fund raising amounts by 20% seems like a realistic goal.

Family: I am a single Father and Grand Father with 3 children and 5 grandchildren! My oldest son, Craig, is 34 and married with three children ranging in age from six years old to one year old. My second is Jason, he is 32 and has a wife and a nine-year-old daughter. My daughter is 26 years old and she travels the world! I love my family very much!

What are some of your interests and hobbies? I love all sports especially the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin Badgers!   Since I lived in NW AR for over 13 years I have adopted the Razorbacks as my second favorite team.  I enjoy playing golf, tennis and try to run regularly and am now back to running about 25 – 30 miles per week.

Where are you from and what made you come to NWA?  I am originally from Wisconsin but have lived and worked in WI, IL, AZ, CO, CA and now AR!  I worked with Mars Candy for nearly 30 years and in all of the listed states!  Mars promoted me to a position here in our NW AR office and I haven’t left!   I am currently retired from Mars and spend my time staying active and volunteering my time at Komen and AR Children’s Hospital.  

How long have you volunteered with Komen Ozark? About 5 Years now I think was when I called the Komen office with a recommendation on the race itself and ended up signing up to help with the 5 and 10 K race.

What (or whom) inspired you to get involved with Komen Ozark?  My best friend Karen Dineen and her battle with breast cancer inspired me to get more involved in Komen Ozark.   If you don’t know her you should meet her!  She is quite persistent and I just couldn’t say no to her or the Komen staff.  Karen is a seven year survivor and lives life to the fullest knowing each day is a gift from God!   She inspires me to do the same!!!

What are your specific duties as a volunteer?  I am currently the Team Chair for the 2014 race.  I also help with the 10K loop team making sure 10K racers stay on course in a location in the middle of the race where runners have to make a right 90 degree turn near the midpoint of race.

Do you currently/or have in the past, participated with Race for the Cure?  I am a past runner in the competitive 5 K but now work on the course race day.  I may run the race again in the future.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for Komen Ozark?  Talking and listening to the stories of the survivors and knowing I am playing a small part in helping eliminate Breast Cancer!

What is your most memorable moment or experience with Komen Ozark? Watching the survivor parade and knowing each and every one of those women, battled cancer and won!

When you’re not volunteering with Komen Ozark, what do you like to do?  Bug Drenda at the Komen office!  Other than that I enjoy my exercise routine and watching my favorite sports teams!  I also like traveling and enjoying a specially cooked meal at a good restaurant with a great glass of red wine!

Leave a Reply

