Meet Our Featured Survivor, Jennifer!

Each week leading up to the Komen Ozark’s 16th Annual Race for the Cure, we will be highlighting a different local survivor.  Each survivor has an important story and message to tell; whether it is early detection, giving back or becoming an advocate for the cause we are so thankful for the women who are giving us an insight into their journeys. 

The Journey of Jennifer GarnerImage

A journey is an act of traveling from one place to another, usually taking a long time. I call the last seven months of my life just that – a journey.   It has been full of bumps, curves and detours. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets have frequented me along the way. I have found amazing people and developed friendships and relationships that I would never trade for anything. I have laughed, I have cried and I have prayed.

My journey began in June 2013 when I was diagnosed with Stage 3 triple negative breast cancer. Like most people, I was stunned. Being only 36 years old, I had not yet had a mammogram. By miracle, I found the tumor myself. The thought of where I would be if I had not found it is unbearable to think about.

Part of my journey has involved developing a relationship with the local Susan G. Komen affiliate. They have been a light in the darkness of my journey. Their support and presence in the daily fight against breast cancer has been daily encouragement. They are committed to education and community awareness.

Most importantly for me, they have shown me that my fight never ends. After chemotherapy, I felt empty.   There was a huge void in my life. I felt like I was no longer fighting. I missed the routine, sharing time with other cancer patients and the feeling that I was fighting. Being involved and volunteering with Susan G Komen helps fills that void. It allows the fight to continue.  It keeps the hope alive. I am committed to help spread awareness, education and support.

After searching for the “End of Road” sign, I have discovered that there is no such thing. This journey never ends. It changes directions, but never ends. I know that the road behind and in front of me has already been paved. I cannot change it, I can only embrace it. I am simply just the traveler on this journey.

Leave a Reply

