Meet our Featured Survivor, Deborah Woodard!

Image

“This is my story”

 

My mother, sister and two cousins are breast cancer survivors along with myself. The Saturday before Mother’s Day I remember examining my breast. The next morning while getting ready for church I noticed tenderness in my left breast.  After church I felt the area and I felt a very small lump. I was in total shock, disbelief, oh my God, surely not, I hope not.  Monday morning at 8 am I called my Gynecologist and made an appointment to be seen that morning. After the breast exam I was scheduled to have a repeat mammogram the next day.  After the test, I saw a surgeon; she then ordered a needle biopsy.  Three days later I was diagnosed with very early stage 1 breast cancer. Three days later I had a lumpectomy and a lymphectomy.  The cancer was only in the lump. On June 26th I started 6 months of chemotherapy and radiation therapy. I see my Oncologist every 6 months for follow-up visits.  Today I’m cancer free and feel “Great”!!  Early detection and prayer is the key to my survival and recovery. I say to all women, “Take care of your body, examine your breasts and get yearly mammograms.”   – Deborah 

Leave a Reply

