Culture of Counting

Marybeth

Have you ever noticed that people just don’t know what to say when you share that you are a breast cancer survivor? Or, maybe you are someone who has been in that situation, fumbling for the right words…I know I did before my breast cancer journey. 

When I started speaking publicly to share my experience, I decided it would be helpful educate others on what to say. 

The ideal conversation that I encourage goes something like this… 

“….and I’m a breast cancer survivor.”

“Wow! Thanks for sharing that with me. How many years?”

“Three!”

“Congratulations!”

…at which point most people share that someone important in their life also had a breast cancer journey. 

The next time you get info a similar conversation, I challenge you to take the next step and explain why we observe a culture of counting.

It’s because from the moment of diagnosis, breast cancer patients are locked in a battle with a diabolical disease. We are in it for life – literally. 

Komen has played a major role in improving the relative 5-year survival rate for early-stage cancers to 99% Unfortunately, with that accomplishment comes a misunderstanding by many that “we’ve got this…if you catch it early, it is a one-and-done disease.”

I was diagnosed at 43.  We need to advance the research so we are discussing 45 year survival rates. (My life’s goal is to be a sassy, fashion conscious 90-year old like my next-door neighbor…more about her in another blog.)

Breast cancer still has no cure. Let that motivate us as we Participate, Advocate, & Donate for the 1 in 8.

Off to train with my running app.  See you at the Race!

 Marybeth

#komenozark

Marybeth Cornwell Head Shot Pink Jacket

 

 

 

*Our Guest Blogger, Marybeth Cornwell is the Honorary Survivor Chair for the 17th Annual Komen Ozark Race for the Cure. Marybeth is the Senior Vice President of Home for Walmart United States and just celebrated her three year cancerversary.

Leave a Reply

