And The Winner Is…

Team T-Shirt Winner 2015

The winner of the Terri’s T-shirt Contest at our Race for the Cure is Team Jennifer!  Jennifer Snow Bryant is a breast cancer survivor and the inspiration behind Team Jennifer.  We reached out to Jennifer to share her story.

Jennifer Snow Bryant-2

A little about my story…
I was diagnosed at 35 after finding a lump on my left breast.  My sons were 3 & 5 at the time. I was stage 1, grade 3. I had a double mastectomy, 4 rounds of chemo and 6 weeks of radiation. I found out I have the brca 2 gene so I chose to have a hysterectomy to avoid ovarian cancer. I had capsular contracture (from radiation we believe) on my left side and didn’t heal well due to radiation. This also led to a strep b infection that made me very ill and resulted in removing my implant and later having the latissimus flap surgery. My journey started in October 2010 and ended (if it really ever ends) in November 2012.
Jennifer Snow Bryant
I can’t imagine taking this journey without the best Doctors, nurses, family and friends in my life. No one would obviously choose to go through anything like Breast Cancer but if they do, I wish everyone had the experience I had!

I would also like to add that my Delta Zeta big sis, Lori Walker, always helps me with the shirts. Her mom passed away from Breast Cancer so it was a cause close to her heart before I was diagnosed and now she is a huge supporter for me as well.

Jennifer Snow Bryant-3

Congratulations Team Jennifer on winning the Terri’s T-Shirt Contest!

*Each year, Komen Ozark hosts a Team T-shirt Contest to award the most popular t-shirt from the Race for the Cure.  Three years ago, we moved the Team T-Shirt Contest to social media with the winner being chosen through Facebook “likes.”  The last two years, Terri’s Troops have won the t-shirt contest and Komen Ozark has decided to name the contest in memory of Terri Walker, the driving force of Terri’s Troops. Terri was diagnosed with Stage 4 Triple Negative Breast Cancer on March 2012 and passed away on July 22, 2014. Terri was an inspiration to anyone who met her. She remained positive throughout all of her treatment.

Terri's Troops 3

Leave a Reply

