Irish for a Cure

Irish for a Cure header
In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, we wanted to highlight the Irish for a Cure team spearheaded by local survivor, Maureen Gulick.  To date, the Irish for a Cure team has raised $1,350 with a goal of $5,000.  Maureen is utilizing social media, emails and a newly created website.  You can donate to Irish for a Cure team through their website www.irishforacure.org or her Facebook page, “Irish for a Cure 25.” You can also find their team center   here

Maureen’s Story:
My story began 4 and a half years ago… I can remember it like it was yesterday and it still sends shivers down my spine. There is nothing in this world that can ever prepare you to hear the words ‘you have breast cancer’. The shock and the wave of emotions are truly indescribable. Once I got past that initial shock and with the support of my family and friends I made a decision, a decision to rise up to the fight and BEAT that awful disease.

Yes, I do look at life a bit differently now. I am proud to say that I am SURVIVOR and am closing in on my 4-year milestone of being cancer-free. While every day is just one step closer to making this a distant memory, not one day passes where I don’t think or worry about it. I don’t think anyone who has shared a journey similar to mine would disagree… there’s always that fear in the back of your mind that you might have to stand up and face this demon again.

I, for one, am looking forward to a world without cancer!!! I want to help others learn about early detection and the tremendous strides to eliminate this disease. I am one of the lucky ones and am grateful every minute of every day for the love and support that I received to help get me through the challenges I faced. Now, it is my turn to make a difference.

Please consider making a tax-deductible donation today in support of my fundraising efforts. You can donate online with your credit card by clicking the button above my fundraising thermometer.

Your support helps us get one step closer to a world without breast cancer… wouldn’t that be wonderful. Up to 75% of the net proceeds raised stays in the local community to fund breast cancer programs and at least 25% supports Susan G. Komen’s national grants program to fund research.

Together, we are fueling the best science, boldest community and biggest impact in the fight against breast cancer. And we will not stop until this disease is gone forever. Will you please join me in this fight by making a donation today?

Irish Team

My team… “IRISH for a Cure!” is walking on Saturday, April 30th in support of this very important cause. I would be honored if you would walk with me. Please sign up, put on your sneakers, and walk (or run) with me to celebrate my survival and in honor of those around me facing similar circumstances.
 

Leave a Reply

